Prof. Gong Ke

Prof. Dr. GONG Ke was born in 1955 in Beijing, China. After obtaining his Bachelor’s Degree in Engineering from Beijing Institute of Technology, he studied further in Technical University of Graz (Austria), where he worked on radio wave propagation in satellite links and obtained his Doctor Degree of Technological Science in 1986.

From 1987 to 2006, he worked in Tsinghua University, Beijing, as a full professor in Electronic Engineering (1994), Head of the Department of Electronic Engineering (1997-1999), Director of the State Key Laboratory of Microwave and Digital Communication at Tsinghua University (1997-2004), Vice President (R&D) of Tsinghua University (1999-2006), Director of Chinese National Research Center for Information Science and Technology at Tsinghua University (2004-2006). He served as the President of Tianjin University from 2006 to 2011. He carried on as the President of Nankai University in 2011 and stepped down in 2018.


Prof. Dr. GONG Ke has been working in the field of telecommunication and electronic engineering. He has led many projects of Chinese high-tech research and development programs, for terrestrial and satellite wireless communication. He has led the development of the Chinese technical standard of digital TV transmission, the first Chinese micro-satellite, the rural radio communication system, etc, and won numbers of rewards including the National Award for Technical Invention. He is author/co-author of more than 100 technical papers.

Prof. Dr. GONG Ke is now the Chairman of the Academic Committee of Nankai University, the Executive Director of the Chinese Institute for New Generation Artificial Intelligence Development Strategies. He is also an Honorary Member of the National Committee of China Association for Science and Technology (CAST), the Vice President of the Chinese Institute of Electronics (CIE), and member of advisory committee of Chinese Ministry of Industry and Information Technology and the National Committee of Standardization.

Prof. GONG has become member of the executive council of WFEO since 2009. He has chaired the Committee on Information and Communication (CIC) from 2009-2015, the Committee on Engineering for Innovative Technologies (CEIT) from 2016 to 2017. He was elected as president of WFEO at the Federation’s General Assembly in Rome on 1st December 2017 and has started his term at the General Assembly in Melbourne in November 2019.

From 2013 to 2017, he was appointed by Ban Ki-moon to the Scientific Advisory Board of the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

Prof. Gong Ke’s website

Prof. Gong Ke activity

WFEO Past Presidents

Eric CHOISY Switzerland 1968-1974
Sadok BEN JEMAA Tunisia 1975-1987
A.Y ISHLINSKY Russia 1987-1991
William J CARROLL USA 1991-1995
Conrado BAUER Argentina 1995-1999
José MEDEM Spain 1999-2003
Dato Lee Yee CHEONG Malaysia 2003-2005
Kamel AYADI Tunisia 2005-2007
Barry GREAR Australia 2007-2009
Maria PRIETO LAFFARGUE Spain 2009-2011
Adel AL KHARAFI Kuwait 2011-2013
Marwan ABDELHAMID Palestine 2013-2015
Jorge SPITALNIK Brazil 2015-2017
Marlene KANGA Australia 2017-2019

WFEO President Elect

Jose Manuel VIEIRA Portugal